Don’t expect regular updates.

I’ve been extending Sober. I had the original plan to write another couple chapters which cover and complete an arc, but, of course, once I started writing, I came to realise that this won’t be a quicky-over-and-done-with-back-to-happy-happy-joy-joy event for Edward and Jasper. And I really cannot commit to another novella length fic when I already have 2 that are pretty much a priority for me.

And yet, I can’t just file away the chapter and a half I have written in the last several days, because I know I won’t go back to it. I wanna do something with it, deal with it, put it out there, and have it to go back to next time I need a distraction.

I’m about to break my cardinal rule of fanfic posting.

Which is, of course, to complete a story, and revise to ready-to-beta standards before posting any of it. I have huge continuity issues when I write, because I don’t outline (I brainstorm and get the story semi straight in my head, but generally my ending comes when I’m past the halfway mark), and then I have to go back once the story is complete to revise so everything makes sense.

Sober is gonna be my between (or in the middle of) projects project. I have far too many things on the go right now. The Victorian (Paintsper) which will be novella length and I intend to finish before posting any of it, like I did with Say Something Else. My original steampunk, which was doing my head in and so was the reason I picked up Sober again in the first place and which I really need to get back to if anything is to come of it. I have to get Say Something Else ready for printing (don’t get excited or panic, I’m not de-fanficing it with plans to self-publish, neither will I be pulling it. SSE is fanfic and will remain fanfic. I am merely using my freebie Createspace proof from NaNo cos my NaNo novel is in no way ready to be printed). And I also have Bloodward, though that’s likely to be a kind of side project as well.

So yeah, I’m putting no pressure on myself with Sober. If fics that don’t update for weeks or months bother you too much to bear… feel free to ignore it ;) It’s definitely going to be a non-priority for me.

I’m aiming for chapters of 4-5k, and I’ll try not to spring any big cliffhangers. That would suck, huh ;) I can’t promise anything, cos hey, I don’t outline. I have a vague idea where I’m going, but I’m just gonna let the story drag me and see where I end up. One thing I do want to do is challenge myself not to avoid conflict. I do that in RL, and I’ve recently noticed I tend to do it when i write as well, and so my characters tend to be nice to each other all the time, and there is lots of pink fluffy gerbils bouncing around the rolling meadows, angst notwithstanding o’course.

And yeah, I’ve gone against the spirit of the contest Sober was written for (No Bella) and written Bella in. I’m trying not to make her annoying, though she will be the source of at least some conflict. So I have a chapter and a half now, and I’m kinda stalled in the middle of the half. I know where I’m going though. And if I can get my normal beta-geniuses to look at a chapter once I’ve gone over it myself (it’s still ugly first drafty), then I guess it’ll turn up at some stage. SSE is a priority, and those girls are busy with other people’s stuff, so I fully intend to tell them to stick it at the bottom of their lists. Beginning how I mean to continue ;)

So, yeah, if you’re interested, put Sober on alert, just don’t expect regular updates ;)

Leave a Reply

