Boy Meets Boy

Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan

I’ve been meaning to read this book for ages. Well, I finally did, and I couldn’t put it down. It’s not often that happens. So often, I start reading, put it down a chapter or so in, and never pick it up again. And that sucks, but I decided a long time ago when I realised my to-read list was getting out of hand, that life is too short to read less than fantastic stories.

Well, I loved Boy Meets Boy. It’s certainly not my usual fare, it’s very sweet and innocent and cute, and while perhaps not entirely realistic, it makes you wish it were. 15 year old Paul lives in a town and goes to high school where sexual preference isn’t an issue. The star quarterback is a drag queen called Infinite Darlene (and OMG if she isn’t just my second favourite character in the whole book), and the town turfed the boy scouts out when it was decided they didn’t want gay people in their ranks and replaced them with the ‘Joy Scouts’.

I want my kids to read this book. Sure, it may be a utopian kind of world it’s set in, but I think optimism is a good thing. Boy Meets Boy is hopeful, and I like that.

Leave a Reply

