Flash Fiction Friday

I am aware that it’s likely not Friday where you are. It is where I am. :p

Once a week I scour weheartit for interesting pics and hit watchout4snakes for random words and post them as prompts for a quickie drabble contest.

Last weeks winner:

Flash Fiction Friday Winners Banner#1

bookjunkie1975, for a sentence structure I can totally identify with, and for letting me see the scene (though that could be a well chosen prompt, yeah?) It’s complete luck that the banner fits your drabble, by the way…

The winning drabble:

Riley thinks that if he could he would like to paint Mike’s body the way he paints these walls; cover it with something beautiful, something bold. He would leave his mark over and over again so that everyone would know and there’d be no more secrets and maybe then Mike would slide his fingers through Riley’s, lean his head against his shoulder, press his lips to Riley’s jaw, in full view of everyone and Riley could stop walking always two paces behind. Riley wonders what a world full of colour would feel like. But for now he has these walls.

I was well chuffed with the excellent turn out last week. Most comments on a single post on my blog ever! SQUEE! Yes, I’m a sad wee monkey. Okay, on to this weeks thingy.

This weeks prompts:

Passage | Fewest | During

Prompts can be interpreted in any way you like. You can use as many or as few as you like. The inspiration you take from them can be as vague or as specific as you need it to be. You can write fanfic of whatever fandom you like or you can write original fic. You can use any pairing, any genre, anything. Be as fluffy or as squicky or as taboo as you like. Crossover, collaborate, whatever, but no more than two entries per week per author.

Your drabble must be exactly 100 words. No more. No less.

You’ve got until Thursday (NZ time, so Wednesday for most of you) to post your drabbles so I can pick a winner and write the next Flash Fiction Friday post.

I choose a winner on a fickle whim and award a pretty banner and an eternal place on the Flash Fiction Friday Winners Link List.

Post your drabbles in the comments section of this post to be eligible. You can also post wherever else you like. Links to here are always awesome :) A very brief header with warnings or ratings if applicable would be appreciated. I’ll read anything, but not everyone is as foolhardy ;)

Next week I’ll post the winner and a new set of prompts!

15 responses to “Flash Fiction Friday

  • bookjunkie1975

    Thanks for putting this together. I’m having so much seeing what people come up with for the prompts. Can’t wait for this round!

  • dellaterra

    Title/Prompt: Twilight
    Fandom: Twilight (EPOV)
    Rating: T
    A/N: A continuation of last week’s drabble “The Girl,” which take place during Edward’s vigilante period.

    * * *

    In the end, I didn’t pass her by.

    At first I went on, ignoring the wild cacophony of thoughts bombarding me from all directions on the sidewalk.

    After another twenty paces, her scent lingering in my memory, I finally understood:

    Her mind was hidden from me.

    And what was I to make of that smile, the supplication in her eyes?

    It took me another week to find her again.

    Sunset burns the Wisconsin sky as I prepare to traverse the crumbling boardwalk to the blessed oasis of silence that awaits me in her family’s old fishing shack.

    She is here.

  • dellaterra

    (Sigh. I hate it when I post something and immediately see a typo!)

  • Bbebar (@Bbebar)

    Title: Untitled
    Prompt: During
    Note: I’m baaaaaack! It must be the time of year because somehow this craziness popped into my head. Rated: M

    All during my childhood, I wanted to die. So much so, I spent endless waking hours lost in dark, macabre fantasies. They were my companions, and in a twisted display of irony, the only things I lived for. 

    I prided myself on conjuring increasingly gruesome methods in which to achieve my demise. Visions of my body, blue and bloated, after drowning; crimson rivers of blood, stark in contrast against milky, albescent skin, pulsing from deep gashes; my last breath emerging as elegant fingers coerced deep indentations and burnished bruises into my neck. 

    It was the blackness I chased. I won. 

  • bookjunkie1975

    Title: In the Stacks
    Prompt: picture 2
    Note: In my head this is sometime pre-Twilight. I kind of fell completely in love with this picture and just had to write something for it. Rated: G

    Hi. All she had to do was say “hi”. One word. Two little letters. She couldn’t screw that up, right? Bella closed her eyes and leaned her head against the bookshelf. He was standing directly behind her now, so close that she could feel the brush of the back of his sweater against hers, smell the soap he used, clean, Ivory maybe. In a minute he would find the book he was looking for. He’d leave and she’d be left here, disappointment and want gnawing at her stomach. Bella reached for a book. She took a breath and turned. “Hi.”

  • Anonymous Poster

    Untitled
    Prompt: Passage

    Her funeral was today.

    She had left me for the last time.

    I had once wanted her gone.

    But the truth fell from my eyes, onto her grave

    Tracing the letters on that stone with my fingers, I remembered a younger time.

    Another argument, another mistake.

    I thought she’d come back. She always had.

    I watched the sun fade into the moon, waiting.

    But she never came.

    She passed out of my life and onto the next.

    But I always felt her.

    Years later, I’m mourning her passage again.

    Hating that I let her love for me pass with her.

  • Bbebar (@Bbebar)

    Title: Reaction
    Prompt: Pics 1&2
    Note: I wrote this immediately after the above crazy drabble to cheer myself up. It is purposely both literal and ridiculous with a side of sweet.

    He tells me he’s looking for a book about kittens. I quirk an eyebrow in response just before hearing him mumble something under his breath. It sounds suspiciously like forget it and whatever.

    “How very rude,”  I huff indignantly. “The kittens only caught me by surprise,” I further explain, turning my back to him. Inexplicably, my feelings are bruised.

    I wouldn’t have batted an eyelash at puppies or even a hamster. Questions swim around my head like fish in a tank, but my pride prevents me from giving voice to them.

    His hand is as soft as his whispered apology.  

Leave a Reply

