NaNoWriMo 2012

My fourth National Novel Writing Month is coming up fast. Until a couple weeks ago, I was pretty much resigned to the fact that it wasn’t going to happen this year–and that was a huge thing. Writing is a catharsis for me, I began my first NaNo only a month and a half after my mother died, and so in my mind, the post-mum era is also hugely tied up with my writing.

But for 6 months or so, I didn’t write a thing. Then I got dragged into signing up for Kink Bingo and at least attempted to write something.

That resulted in the infamous Harry/Draco butter!kink failure O.O You don’t even want to know, but it at least got me started. I won’t go into the other stuff I’ve begun and then abandoned, but finally I actually started, finished, edited and posted Painted Green, and while it was only 700 odd words and fairly meaningless, I finally fucking finished something! Epic reason for celebration after a 6 month complete block.

So I figured I could handle NaNo this year. God only knows if I’ll come out with something readable (I’ve done exactly nothing with my last two efforts), but I’ll be writing.

Still don’t know what I’m going to be writing for NaNo this year, because I know from previous experience that whatever I decide to do and tell the world I’m going to do, invariably changes at the last minute (several times, if I know me). I’ve already told venis-envy that I’m doing The Lucky Ones (an SSE AU that I started planning 2 years ago), but it’s looking like that isn’t going to happen yet again. Right now I’m writing what could be an epic Harry/Draco mpreg (gasp!) so I might just decide to continue that for NaNo (counting only the words I write during November of course).

There’s always the option to hit a random plot generator at 11.59pm on October the 31st :D

One thing I’m not doing is planning out the wazoo like I have done before. There is no big red book this year. I’m thinking about rereading all my previous NaNo posts though, see if I feel like doing any of that in the week and a bit I have left.

Find me on the NaNoWriMo site here.

Leave a Reply

