Word Count Calculators

I can be a bit OCD about wordcount, it’s something I picked up over four years of NaNoWriMo, and it’s about the only thing that keeps me writing some days.

There are NaNoWriMo word count calculators out there, but I always ended up making my own. I wanted a little more than the NaNoWriMo website stats could give me, but I didn’t need sheets and sheets of linked… stuff, either. My spreadsheet skills are very basic (I don’t even know how to link sheets) but they do what I need them to do, and they keep me writing for the most part, which is the main thing.

I started, of course, with a NaNo calculator, then after NaNo ended one year I started making the calculators for different targets, different time periods. This November, I made one for NaNo that had both the standard 50k target, but also had space for a custom target (I found 50k to be no great challenge, after three years of wins).

Thought I might as well share them. Maybe they’ll be useful to someone else :)

To use them, click on the spreadsheet title. It’ll open the Google Doc in a new window. File > Make a Copy, and give it a name. It’ll be saved in your own Google Docs/Drive. If you don’t have a Google/Gmail account, or if you prefer to have it on your computer rather than in the cloud,  use File > Download as > and choose Excel or Open Document format.

If anything is messed up, let me know so I can fix it!

Seven Day Word Count Spreadsheet

Seven Day

Fourteen Day Word Count Spreadsheet

Fourteen Day

Thirty Day Word Count Spreadsheet

Thirty Day

NaNoWriMo Word Count Spreadsheet

NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo with Custom Target Word Count Spreadsheet

NaNoWriMo with Custom Target

Creative Commons License

Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

Leave a Reply

